## COE Graduate Programs Committee Minutes

## September 5, 2012

Call to Order: The COE Graduate Programs Committee Meeting was called to

order at approximately 1:07 pm.

Attendance: Deborah Floyd, Deena Wener, Ali Danesh, Paul Peluso (by

phone), Hanizah Zauiuyddin, Gail Burnaford, Sharon Darling, Mary Lou Duffy, Dianne Wright, Tina Penhallow (for Mike Whitehurst), Susannah Brown, Patricia Willems (by phone),

Deborah Shepherd.

## **Action Items:**

Deborah Floyd was elected Chair of the COE Graduate Programs

Committee. She was elected as Chair of the University Graduate Council
and thus, will serve as one of the two COE GC members.

Gail Burnaford agreed to serve as the second University Graduate Council member and to represent the COE at the University Graduate Programs Committee meetings.

Dianne Wright was selected as Secretary of the COE Graduate Programs Committee. Paul Peluso will serve as Curriculum Sub-Committee Chair and Sharon Darling will continue as the Petitions Sub-Committee Chair.

Meeting dates were discussed and it was agreed that Paul Peluso and Deborah Floyd would work on setting the COE GPC meeting dates with the next meeting scheduled for September 26, 2012 (later changed to October 2, 2012 to accommodate requests).

Petitions, as submitted to date, were discussed and all approved with the exception of one which was tabled.

It was agreed that all requests for student leaves of absence, when approved, will be done so for up to one year.

Several matters before the University Graduate Council were discussed. Deborah Floyd and Gail Burnaford agreed to get with the chair of the COE Faculty Assembly and to share draft re: Tuition Benefits Policy for Graduate Students to share feedback from the COE GPC about concerns.